9.5 hours

Learn the basic concepts of event-driven architecture, best practices associated with event-driven methodology, and how to apply them both to your applications and infrastructure as a whole.

Upon completion of the certification path, you will be able to:

  • Understand the motivations and business value for being event-driven and applications of event-driven architecture
  • Understand and apply a proven, 6-step implementation process to make the journey to event-driven architecture faster, smoother and less risky in many real-world implementations
  • Understand the various design patterns for event driven architecture
  • Understand microservices choreography vs orchestration, the saga pattern, and RESTful microservices
  • Apply real-world use cases and how to select real-time candidates in your enterprise
  • Understand and demonstrate key concepts and tools for EDA success, like event portal, topic hierarchy best practices, and event mesh

This certification path consists of the following courses:

  • Event Driven Architecture Foundations
  • Solace Certified Event Driven Architecture Practitioner Exam (SCEDAP)

Event Driven Architecture Practitioner Certification Exam Breakdown

Motivations for Being Event-Driven
  • Event-driven definitions and foundational concepts 5%
  • Event-driven architecture
  • Event-driven use cases
EDA Methodology
  • The event-driven 6+1 steps methodology 5%
  • Distributed computing primer
EDA Design Patterns Walkthrough
  • Distributed computing 20%
  • Being scalable
  • Data handling
Event-Driven Microservices
  • Microservices overview 20%
  • RESTful request/response
  • Enhancing microservices with events
Topic Taxonomy
  • Topic structures and wildcards 30%
  • Topic taxonomy examples
  • Topic best practices
EDA Methodology in Practice
  • Culture, awareness, and intent of being event-driven 10%
  • Identifying real-time candidates
  • Event streaming foundations
  • Event broker deployment options
Event Portal
  • Event portal for event-driven architecture 5%
  • PubSub+ Event Poral overview and basics
Pilot to Quick Win
  • Pilot selection 5%
  • Event-driven design for pilot selection
  • AsyncAPI
  • Implementing quick win
  • Scaling out

Certification Exam FAQ:

Questions are formatted as multiple choice (one correct response), multiple response (two or more correct responses), and association (associate options with correct responses).

The exam is open book format and non-proctored.

You require access to a computer and an internet connection. You cannot save the exam and resume later. Navigating away from the browser or exiting the exam before you submit your answers can cause your responses to be reset and will count towards your attempt.

There are 28-70 questions, depending on which exam you take.

You must score 70% or above to obtain the certification.

Results of the exam are delivered immediately upon submission, along with a certificate of achievement

You will have a maximum of 3 re-attempts with a wait period of 3 days between. Use this waiting period to review your course materials and other resources. After 2 attempts you can contact us at for further instructions.

Yes, Solace certifications are valid for 2 years, after which you can renew your certification.

Sign in to Solace Academy and successfully re-complete the learning path of your desired certification.

Exams should not be a collaborative effort. Posting or sharing of exam questions or answers in any forum is strictly prohibited and may result in disqualification.

Subscribe to our Digital Learning Catalog

Learn from our experts in-person or in a virtual classroom